Inside Sebastian Maniscalco and Pregnant Wife Lana’s Pink ‘Baby Bash’: We Thought a Shower Would Be ‘Boring’

Sebastian Maniscalco is getting ready to be a dad!

The stand-up comedian and his wife Lana are gearing up to welcome their first child, a daughter. To mark the momentous upcoming event, the couple threw not a shower, but a “Baby Bash” for their family and friends.

Maniscalco, 43, took time to chat with PEOPLE about the festivities, what he’s most excited about in becoming a dad, bringing his new family on tour and more.

Want all the latest pregnancy and birth announcements, plus celebrity mom blogs? Click here to get those and more in the PEOPLE Babies newsletter.

PEOPLE: Tell us about the baby shower. Was it a surprise? What was your favorite part?

Sebastian Maiscalco: We thought it would be boring to throw a baby shower, so we had some fun with it and called it a “Baby Bash.” My wife Lana and I love entertaining and doing the unexpected. My wife is an artist and loves infusing her creative spirit into anything we do.

We had a large balloon wall in the backyard with the words “Baby Bash” above it. The letters were made out of papier-mâché, along with baby bottles and pacifiers that were centerpieces throughout the party.

PEOPLE: When did you find out you were expecting? How did Lana tell you?

Sebastian: Lana told me casually in early September. We had some trouble in the past, so we were cautiously excited.

PEOPLE: Why did you decide to find out the sex?

Sebastian: We always wanted to know the sex. We are planners, so we wanted to get a jump-start on purchasing clothes and preparing the nursery.

FROM COINAGE: Find Out Where Coins Go After You Toss Them In A Fountain

 

PEOPLE: Did one want to find out more than the other?

Sebastian: No. We were both on board right from the get-go!

PEOPLE: Have you chosen a name or are you still narrowing it down?

Sebastian: Yes, there is a name. We have known for the last six months, and no one will know the name until she is born.

PEOPLE: What are you most looking forward to as a dad?

Sebastian: I’m looking forward to the baby squeezing my finger and squeezing her chubby legs. I think she is going to be a big baby. I was 10½ lbs., so she might have my appetite.

PEOPLE: Has humor helped you and Lana during pregnancy? What’s the funniest moment so far?

Sebastian: Oh yeah! I do funny voices to the baby through Lana’s belly. I’m teaching life lessons to her already; Lana swears that the baby moves more when she hears my voice. I think the baby takes after my wife, because she doesn’t sit still!

PEOPLE: How have you juggled being on tour during Lana’s pregnancy?

Sebastian: I think FaceTime and Skype were invented by a traveling father.

PEOPLE: Do you plan to bring the baby on the road with you?

Sebastian: Oh yes! I can’t wait! I need my two favorite girls with me.

from PEOPLE.com http://people.com/babies/sebastian-maniscalco-expecting-daughter-wife-lana-pregnant-baby-shower/

Leave a Reply

