Traveling This Summer? Consider One of These 5 States That Don’t Have Sales Tax


What do Delaware, New Hampshire, Alaska, Oregon and Montana have in common? They’re all tax free!

We often think of sales tax as that extra few cents added onto our morning coffee or that annoying surprise at check out for big ticket items, but residents of — and visitors to — five U.S. states don’t have to contend with either.

RELATED: All the States Where You Can Legally Buy Fireworks for the Fourth of July

If you’re planning a summer vacation or road trip, you may want to consider one of these destinations. Especially if you’re booking lodging, renting a car or going to do some serious shopping. Those little percentages add up when dropping a lot of cash.

Beware that some of these “tax free” states do have some loopholes that occasionally target visitors. Montana, for example, has a 3% sales tax for tourist attractions like resorts. Oregon taxes alcohol and tobacco products. New Hampshire taxes tobacco.

Looking to make a more permanent tax-free move? Delaware has neither sales tax nor property tax.

RELATED: The Nasty Reason You Should Never Use a Hotel Hair Dryer

Check out the video above to learn more.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s